Ms Astha Sharma

PhD student
Research Area:
MSc in Physics (Pune University) ; BSc. (Physics)
+61 459610443

Astha Sharma is a Ph.D. student at ANU Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering, College of Engineering and Computer Science. 

She is a Physicist and finds it closely tailored to her personality.  Of course, she is extremely passionate about applying physics to Energy applications.

She is currently in her second year of Ph.D., supervised by Dr. Fiona J.Beck, Dr. Kylie Catchpole, Dr. Heping Shen, and Dr. Siva Karuturi.  Her Ph.D. research focuses on the design, fabrication, and integration of low-cost Silicon and earth-abundant catalysts for Solar water splitting, as an efficient, clean and cheaper route to hydrogen production. Her Ph.D. work consists of two major elements. Firstly, developing of Si photoelectrodes for PV-PEC system that can achieve both high voltage and stability. This approach has the advantage of a simplified architecture, and the ability to utilize waste heat to increase the rate of catalysis. She is also working on understanding different solar water splitting system configurations and their potential for solar hydrogen generation using PV integration and photoelectrodes.                                                     

Astha received her MSc. degree in Physics from Savitribai Phule Pune University in 2016. She was awarded INSPIRE scholarship by Department of Science and Technology, Government of India during her Bachelors and Masters (2011-2016). 


Solar water splitting

Silicon Photoelectrodes

Tandem structures

System Integration 

1. Sharma Astha et al., "Photon induced separation of bio-nano hybrid complex based on carbon nanotubes and optically active bacteriorhodopsin". Optical Materials Express (OSA Publishings)

2. Karuturi S., Sharma Astha et al., " Over 17% Effciency Stand-Alone Solar Water Splitting Enabled by Perovskite-Silicon Tandem Absorbers". Advanced Energy Materials


1. INSPIRE scholarship awarded by Department of Science and Technology, Government of India

Updated:  1 June 2019/Responsible Officer:  Dean, CECS/Page Contact:  CECS Marketing